The National Museum Soares dos Reis opened in 1833, being both one of the oldest museums in Portugal and the first museum enjoying the designation of national museum. The museum’s collections have been sheltered since 1942 in the late 18th century Carrancas Palace, a historical edifice which, in time, served as residence for the bigwigs of the English army during the early 19th century and as royal residence since the rule of King Peter IV (who actually founded the museum under the name of Museu Portuense) until 1942, when the museum moved here. The museum was originally sheltered by the centrally located Convent of Saint Anthony in Porto.

Most of the collections were amassed in the 19th century, comprising paintings, ceramics, glassware, furniture, metalwork and jewels amassed from the former artistic patrimony of monasteries which did not manage to survive the centuries. But generally speaking, the collections provide an overall picture of the evolution of the Portuguese art from the 18th to the 20th century, showcasing masterpieces like The Exiled (O Desterrado) by the very artist the name of which is borne by the museum, that is, Soares dos Reis, by Francois Clouet, Jean Pillement, Vieira Portuense, Miguel Angelo Lupi, Antonio Carvalho de Silva Porto, Marques de Oliveira, Augusto Roquemont, Dordio Gomes, Henrique Pousao, Aurelia de Souza, Julio Resende, Augusto Santo, Antonio Teixeira Lopes, Rodolfo Pinto do Couto, Domingos Sequeira.

Name:
National Museum Soares dos Reis (Museu Nacional de Soares dos Reis)
Address:
Palacio dos Carrancas, Rua D. Manuel II, Porto, Portugal
Telephone:
00351 223 393770
Fax:
00351 222 082851
Email:
mnsr.div@ipmuseus.pt
Website:
mnsr.imc-ip.pt

Palacio dos Carrancas, Rua D. Manuel II, Porto, Portugal

Go to top